Aaniin ~ Welcome - Curve Lake First Nation Territory

LDISS Accommodation Review - Recommendation by Senior Staff of Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board



RECOMMENDATION BY SENIOR STAFF OF Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board

The final report prepared by the KPRDSB staff is to close LDISS and repurpose the building for an elementary school grades JK to grade eight (8). The full report is available at www.kprdsb.ca

The Accommodation Review Committee has completed their mandate to hold public meetings to gather information on the recommended closure. That information was used by the Senior staff of KPRDSB to make a final recommendation to the Trustees of the Board. The Board Trustees will be making the final decision on March 29, 2016.

The School has not been closed and is considered open until a final decision by the Trustees. Course selection must happen at LDSS so that students are in the board system with course selection. It is business as usual at the school until a decision is made.

The Trustees may not necessarily vote for the Board Recommendations. They may, in fact, vote to keep the school open.

If you are interested in keeping the school open, you must make your voice known, either by attending a Board Meeting or writing a letter to the Trustees of the Board

You can express your opinion to the Trustees by requesting an audience at the next Board Meeting, February 25, 2016. A ten minute delegation must register with the Board by February 16, 2016 and a three minute delegation must register by February 24, 2016.

The Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board is comprised of ten elected Trustees, in addition to one First Nations Appointed Trustee, and one Student Trustee. 

Cathy Abraham
Chairperson of the Board, Municipality of Clarington
Phone: 905-987-1833
Email: cathy_abraham@kprdsb.ca

Sarah Bobka
Vice-chairperson of the Board, Municipality of Clarington
Phone: 289-356-2133
Email: sarah_bobka@kprdsb.ca

Wayne Bonner
City of Peterborough
Phone: 705-933-8350
Email: wayne_bonner@kprdsb.ca

Cyndi Dickson 
Municipality of Brighton, Township of Cramahe, City of Quinte West/Murray Ward
Phone: 613-475-4222
Email: cyndi_dickson@kprdsb.ca

Gordon Gilchrist 
Town of Cobourg, Township of Alnwick/Haldimand, Township of Hamilton, Municipality of Port Hope
Phone: 905-342-3505 
Email: gordon_gilchrist@kprdsb.ca

Rose Kitney
City of Peterborough
Phone: 705-743-1762
Email: rose_kitney@kprdsb.ca

Jaine Klassen Jeninga

Town of Cobourg, Township of Alnwick/Haldimand, Township of Hamilton, Municipality of Port Hope
Phone: 905-396-5665
Email: jaine_klassenjeninga@kprdsb.ca

Angela Lloyd 
Township of Cavan-Monaghan, Township of Douro-Dummer, Township of Otonabee-South Monaghan
Phone: 705-939-6967
Email: angela_lloyd@kprdsb.ca

Diane Lloyd 
Municipality of Trent Lakes, Township of North Kawartha, Township of Selwyn
Phone: 705-652-3677
Email: diane_lloyd@kprdsb.ca

Mary Lynch-Taylor
Alderville First Nation, Curve Lake First Nation and Hiawatha First Nation
Phone: 705-657-3558
Email: mary_lynchtaylor@kprdsb.ca

Shirley Patterson
Township of Asphodel-Norwood, Township of Havelock-Belmont-Methuen, Municipality of Trent Hills
Phone: 705-778-1202
Email: shirley_patterson@kprdsb.ca

Khadijah Jilani
Student Trustee 
Email: khadijah_jilani@kprdsb.ca

PDF version

Return to News Articles